Pedal on parliament

Today thousands of cyclists took part in a city wide bike ride from the meadows to the Scottish parliament to stage a demonstration/protest to call for safer cycling in Scotland.

I was going to take part, but I decided I wasn't well enough to get my bike out. I went along to support them all the same though. I took about 70 photos from different angles trying to show the huge support they had, while also trying to capture the location. I eventually decided on this one as I love the line of bikes in the front of the shot.

As I was stood there, waiting for the speech to parliament, I was thinking about cycling and running. While this is a great cause, (I know I've been knocked by 2 cars while cycling) I also think more needs to be done to promote safe running in the city too. I've ranted on here before, but runners have to negotiate cars, bikes and pedestrians on the streets and this is no easy feat.

Also as I was standing there, I realised that I was well enough to take part. And that if I was well enough to take part, I was well enough to run. In the second I realised that, I had to go straight home and change into my running gear (I only live 5 mins away). I left before the speeches in a hurry to get out running.

I did a wee little 3 miler in my new Saucony Mirage running shoes. These are my new minimalist shoes and I made a conscious effort to fore/mid-foot strike for the whole 3 miles. It was very different to my normal running style and I definitely used different muscles. It took a lot of concentration too, but I'm glad that I did it.

Exercise: 3 mile run
May running mileage: 36 miles
2013 running mileage: 441 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.