Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pip arrived about 10am, his mum’s job hours vary a bit. I took the dogs round the block. They walk so well together. Archie has taken to walking on the left hand side, while Pip always walks on the right, and there’s not too much sniffing and piddling and definitely no pulling. 

A wee child, as we came along the pavement towards her, said to her father as we passed, ‘Those two dogs look angry,’ I assured her they weren’t.

JR took them out for a longer walk in the afternoon while I went to my long-awaited appointment with the neurosurgeon.

And a most charming man he was. He showed me lots of pictures of spines, and of my X-rays and pointed out the wee dodgy bit that was causing all the problems. He discussed the possibilities - steroid injection (60% success rate) and/or operation. I tried to look unperturbed when he quoted prices. But the upshot is that he’ll arrange an injection (round about three weeks) and he’ll put me on the waiting list for the operation. The cost of it was eye-watering, so I’ll wait in the NHS line for it. A very successful visit. I wish I’d done it months years ago!

Pip has an endearing habit of always offering his paw whenever he’s near you. Archie is unimpressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.