Brand New Day

Mrs C and I have a competition every March and September to be the first to spot a car with whatever new registration number is issued that month. Today is the day the “23” registrations are issued and I was expecting to maybe see one by the weekend.
But, as we backed off our drive to go shopping this morning, I noticed that our neighbour’s car was a different colour. A split second later, I noticed the number plate. With a triumphant cry of “23 plate car”, I won this particular competition with not even half the day gone and only a few feet from home. Mrs C somewhat disgusted that she had not been paying attention as we left the house!
Our neighbour must have been up and about really early collecting his new car, but what surprised me is that this car is an identical model to his previous car. And that previous car was bought brand new last September, on a “72” plate. In days gone by I’d have said he was changing his car because the ashtray was full. But I’ve never seen him smoke, and I don’t think cars even come with ashtrays these days. It’s not as if he does a mega mileage either, so I’m guessing he just likes that new car smell! Mrs C will be no doubt up and about early on 1st September to see if he changes it again…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.