Barn Quilt

The day started normal enough. We woke up early, had breakfast and did a few inside jobs. My DIL had a lap quilt made to thank me for caring for their two Labrador puppies their first six months in the family. Hubby sketched this barn quilt and my sister painted it the same pattern/colors a couple years ago. The design is called Lemoyne Star, Puritan Star or Lemon Star. It represents honor and generosity. Its origin is sketchy, possibly from France or New England. “Today, star quilts are one of the most valued gifts of the Lakota (Sioux) people and are still draped over the shoulders of the recipient to symbolize protection on their journey through life.” -stjo.org. One of our friends said he could mount it months ago and he finally was able to do it today. I’m delighted. The front of the garage was too plain. We did laundry, had lunch and I started looking for my blip quote. Then, my daughter called to say her aunt (her father’s sister) had unexpectedly gone into cardiac arrest and was at the hospital. She passed around 3:15 pm. She would have turned 63 on 10 March. Their family members have all had heart disease. I worry for my children. Hubby and I picked up a few of the grands from their bus stops so my girls could go to the hospital to be with their father. My son is in Florida until Saturday. How quickly emotions can change. Thanks for dropping by. Get those health check ups folks. “But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only. For as were the days of Noah, so will be the coming of the Son of Man. For as in those days before the flood they were eating and drinking, marrying … and they were unaware until the flood came and swept them all away, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.” Matt 24:36-39

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.