Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Today when JR came home from the gym, I went off to the pool to meet up with an old friend - she goes twice a week for exercises, and the staff are wonderful with her, she gets one to one attention. We went to the cafe, which is brilliant, actually. And you can look down on the swimmers (there was a schools competition on this morning).

When I left, I decided just to go on into town to have a look at shoes. Comfy shoes. I was on the bus when my doctor rang re the recent blood test. I HATE people who yak on the phone on buses, so I whispered to her and asked her to ring me back, which she did.

She just wanted to ask how I was feeling. ‘Funny you should ask, doctor, because I’m not feeling too sprightly…’ Upshot was, she wanted me to go to A&E. Immediately.

And so, I spent several hours there. Xrays, blood tests etc. I love the professional way they set to, testing and eliminating things. Just as well I had my earpods, audiobook and free wifi for Twitter. Another upshot - possibly blood clots. I need a special X-ray. Tomorrow.

JR texted me about 4pm to ask where I was. She knew I would NOT still be in town! She and Archie were waiting by the bus stop when I eventually returned, so you’ve got another shot of the delightfully yarn-bombed post box, because it’s worth it.

Busy day tomorrow - my long-awaited steroid injection in the morning, and lung X-ray in the afternoon. And a gin and tonic in the evening…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.