night in the city

I've always been a night person. Handy when children are young and someone needs to be up during the night. Sometimes it's the only quiet time of the day. A great time of day to read or think.

The mental process to tonight's tune was: mural, subway, NY, NewYork by Stanley Clarke, Return to Freedom, Chick Corea and here we are. Captain Marvel was probably the track that got me into Chick Corea; I bought a Sony JazzMasters cassette from Woolies specials bin and there it was. Brilliant.

When I was about 8 we had a family friend who was an A&R man for CBS; in their house they had floor to ceiling records that he would let me choose from. At that time CBS had some pretty good artists: Weather Report, Boston, Billy Joel, Pink Floyd, Blue Öyster Cult and Return To Forever...

Better large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.