The calm before the storm

Today I have been volunteering as part of the Edinburgh Marathon Festival. They held the breakfast international run, junior 1.5k, junior 3k, 5k and 10k runs today. I was a finish area marshall, responsible for funnelling people. This is the finish area at about 8am before the running started. The calm before the storm!

Everything went relatively smoothly, apart from the 1.5km kids run. 600 kids trying to be reunited with their families in a really small space. Not fun. I actually realised though that I can in fact interact with children - they were loving me! And we only managed to lose one. Don't worry, we found her again!

I was going to go for a run myself this afternoon, but after volunteering for 6 hours in the sun I'm knackered. And the good news is that I have to do it all over again tomorrow! I'm also volunteering at the actual marathon - and that means a 10 hour shift! No-one said this volunteering lark was easy!

Yet again I have to say that I'm so pleased I did my marathon in April. This sun is too hot for running!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.