The line

Another day volunteering at Edinburgh marathon. Today I was at the finish line. In fact, I even held the tape for the winners. It so happens that for once I was in the right place at the right time. I saw amazing international athletes up close and personal. This shot was taken a couple of minutes before Tola Lema of Ethiopia crossed the line.

I had a brilliant day and I learned so much about my sport. I'd recommend every runner volunteers at a marathon at least once. I stood at that finish line for about 9 hours and I clapped every single runner in, I congratulated as many as I could and I hugged a lot of people.

I saw a lot of my fellow runners from Portobello running club and gave as many as I could a wee hug. One of them told me how pleased they were that I was there to hug them. It makes it all so worthwhile. I am humbled.

I got covered in other people's sweat, I rubbed people's backs as they were sick, I picked people up from the floor when they fell and I helped support people when they could no longer walk. Awe-inspiring. As a runner, you are so focused on you that you don't see anything or anyone else. I saw immense spirit, I saw utter joy, I saw so much camaraderie that it brought tears to my eyes. I remembered the last time I ran the Edinburgh marathon and the support I got from a complete stranger, Russell. Marathon running is such an awesome sport. Which is what makes what happened in Boston all the more tragic. I thought about that a lot today.

I got so much from today, not least of all that it has renewed my inspiration and motivation for my fourth marathon - Loch Ness in September. I'll never stop.

I don't run because I love the feeling of running. I run because it makes me love the feeling of living.

Bonnie Pfiester

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.