My little flower

Another beautiful day - that's 2 in a row. When the rain and cold returns for the next few months - we'll say 'remember those 2 days in May??'

Just me and No 3 in the garden today - and then she dumped me to play next door. I pottered about the garden pulling weeds.

Later (much, much later) No 2 announced she was sleeping in our 8 man tent in her friend's garden with 6 friends. I delivered the tent and instructions for putting it up. At 10.00 pm they still hadn't started to put it up (it takes 40 minutes). Just received a call to say there's no tent in the tent bag. Mr S is now heading off (moaning) to deliver the missing tent.

I'm keeping WELL out of the way of this argument !

I bought my first tent at a jumble sale when I was about 10. It had 2 wooden poles and a white canvas sheet. No groundsheet. No zips (all ties!). I spent all summer sleeping on bin bags and a car rug in my friends back garden. Only a few blankets.

When we go camping now it's a military operation. Tent, groundsheets, bedrooms, air mattresses, pillows, sleeping bags, torches, BBQ, Kitchen, fold out table and chairs, head torches.

One year I had to bring a breast pump too! No 3 was being weaned, and I left her with Mr S while I took the girls camping with friends. I had to 'relieve the pressure' every few hours. By the time I came back - she was on bottles. I was back at work a few weeks later. It was a bit sad.

Here's No 3 in the garden- she stuck her head up when I was just about to blip some lavender. She's a much prettier flower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.