Ruby

I have used this photo a couple of times before on this date, but I make no excuses for using it again today as Mrs C and I reach the milestone of being married (to each other!) for forty years.
I actually find it quite hard to believe that so much time has passed, as I don’t feel that much older. And although I don’t think I look any older either, the evidence of the shaving mirror says otherwise. Mrs C must have a portrait in the attic though because she definitely doesn’t look any different to the young lady in the photo.
Due to some bloke called Charles having a bit of a do in London next weekend, we have put our celebrations on hold for a couple of weeks, but we did go out for breakfast this morning. Our first choice of venue - Beetham Nurseries - was absolutely rammed when we got there with a twenty minute queue just to get into the cafe. Seems we weren’t the only people wanting to eat out this morning, though I think for most of them it was making the best of a grey rainy day in the Lakes, rather than celebrating a significant anniversary. Headed back towards Kendal and ended up only five minutes from home at Low Sizergh Barn! But they had space and we had a delicious cooked breakfast, though it was virtually lunchtime by then. A quiet afternoon, just relaxing, was in order and I suspect only a light tea will be required.
Let’s see what the next forty years will bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.