The Second Coming

I’ll take it even if it’s only every two days- summer I mean. Yes it was another glorious day and there I was bobbing about in the briny just after 7:30am, my face turned to the sun and marvelling how much my mood depends on sunshine. With low tides in the morning next week, I’ll give the beach a miss hoping to cavort among the waves again in a fortnight.

It was warm enough back home to have the back door open and dry my swimming gear on the patio. The Meadows are alive with students and the grass has all but disappeared under bodies. I haven’t seen the frisbee boys or the ball kickers in action yet and I can only see two barbecues on the go so far, but the day is young.

As for me, I am wearing my sunglasses and licking a Cornetto. The gardeners have decided to spoil the peace by strimming the grass at the edge of the patio several times over to be as annoying as possible and the smell of petrol is hanging in the air, but I am too happy to care. It’s time  for summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.