Resurrection

By EmmySusanne

Münchner Kindl

DDW challenge of today is Patriotic - I really like that! See, 10 years ago when you said you were proud to be German, you got funny looks immediately - it was quite unheard of to be openly proud of being German, unless you were a neo nazi, but ever since the Football World Cup happened in Germany in 2006 and we all had our little German flags sticking out of our cars, our national identity must have changed in a way, as it slowly became okay to take a certain pride in our nationality without raising eyebrows. I like that. I came out of hiding.

I've always liked being a German (totally without any right wing tendencies, lol), and have been welcomed with open arms in every country I have lived and visited. I've always felt liked around the world after saying where I was from - same here in Britain - despite often being the subject of ridicule, but I'm used to that now. There isn't one British TV show that works without at least one baddie with a German accent, is there? Your comedy would be lost without us.

We're so much more than a dark past, we're funny (often unintentionally), punctual, environmentally friendly, honest, we're poets, feminists and scientists, we have Rammstein and gay politicians and wicked christmas decorations. Ich bin ein Münchner Kindl - my dad wears socks and sandals (cringe) and I wear my dirndl whenever I can get away with it :)

Mein Land

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.