Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Day 7 (At Sea)

Another - unscheduled - day at sea, due to the situation in Israel. But it was sunny and warm with a gentle breeze, unlike the other 'at sea' day, where only the stalwarts were by the pool. In fact, conditions were so pleasant, we were lured into our togs and joined the hordes on the sunbeds. Mind you, I only lasted half an hour, then covered up with my towel. I still got my feet sunburned.

I am the heaviest I have ever been in my life (diet after the hols), so that's not conducive to squeezing into swimmers and parading around in public, but oh my goodness! I'm sylph-like compared to some of the sights on board - and they don't care a jot!

We both had a plunge in the pool (spot JR) it was like bathwater. JR had gone in first, and I was tempted to also have a swim, so had to go back to get my togs, and when I came back, I passed the open kitchen where there were lobster tails being grilled. I stopped to pick up a couple. Just what we fancied - what a treat! Then I actually went back to get another couple.

We went to the talk about Greek gods this morning. Wow! I wouldn't want to have to pass an exam on the subject. But this afternoon we didn't bother going to the talk on Cyprus and Rhodes. I think it would have been rather less well attended because of the lovely weather.

We had dinner with our new friends Rosemary and David, both solo travellers. We arrive in Paphos about midday, and have a tour of the island laid on - this is an extra day they've had to arrange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.