fountain

The fountain in Dumfries High Street has been undergoing a lengthy and expensive restoration. Here is a comprehensive account of the project which includes the interesting history of the fountain. 

In my lunch break today, I walked down to see how the work was progressing. The fountain is still surrounded by a protective barrier, so it's not possible to get up close, but from this limited view, you can see the bright gold of the gilding and the new black colour scheme (it was most recently red). Whatever your views on the cost and relevance of repairs to a monument at the time of a cost of living crisis, I think that the fountain can be a focus of much-needed pride in our town. The trouble is that beside this gilded glory, the surrounding buildings look shabby and in need of some TLC.

It's been a warm day, and I got even warmer after work by going for a relaxing sauna, and then cooled off again with a quick swim. Home on the bus to see D (it's his birthday!) and I've walked round the garden, noticing all the jobs which suddenly need doing but I'm not doing any of them tonight....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.