Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Day 12 (Ephesus)

Today we went to Ephesus. I had been there with my pals in the mid 70s (gosh we're old) and were quite underwhelmed. We'd been to lots of ruins by then, having travelled overland through Asia, and so we just walked straight through the place, barely glancing at the hundreds of broken statues lining the road through. But it's changed (and I’ve changed). It's just wonderful now. There is a huge two storey 'library', which I didn't remember, but quite believed we hadn't noticed it. I saw it on the Bettany Hughes recent documentary on the BBC. But I asked our guide, as we stood in front of this amazing structure. It had been destroyed in an earthquake - the whole city was - but was finished being rebuilt in 1978, so it wasn't like this in 1975. Phew!

The history of the area - in fact, the whole of Turkey - is fascinating (we went to a lecture about it yesterday). I am SO impressed with all our guides - they all have degrees in history and languages and it's pretty hard work, talking all day and keeping a bunch of silly (old) tourists together and not losing anyone.

The morning visit was called 'Easy Ephesus', along the beautiful roads made of marble slabs (original), past the huge amphitheatre (where Elton John had a concert), pausing to watch a re-enactment of Caesar and Cleopatra (for some reason). 

Back home for lunch, a rest, then an early dinner (as if we needed it...) and back on the bus to Ephesus for the concert. 

And this really was the highlight of the trip!

I tried to find the same headless statue that my wee pal Anne kindly posed behind in 1975. (Extra 1). Couldn't find it, but JR kindly posed behind this one. (Extra 2)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.