Peeking Duck

I had one of those days today where I seemed busy but actually got very little done.
I was feeling rather frustrated and decided on another quick blast of mindfulness (not sure the words quick and blast are readily associated with mindfulness but there you go!) at The Friars (our local Carmelite Priory) to restore a sense of, even temporarily, calm.
I almost immediately felt much more at ease as the quiet surroundings took their usual pacifying effect. I spotted this Muscovy duck ensconced next to the Priory's duck pond on a sea of daisy covered grass. Initially it looked like it was fast asleep but as I focused my lens I could see that gimlet eye staring back at me and decided that would be the centre point of my image. I let the rest of the shot blur until it had an almost abstract feel.
I remember as kids we used to call them 'Chinese ducks' for a reason which I have long forgotten but they are actually, as previously mentioned, Muscovy ducks and are native to the Americas - from the Rio Grande Valley of Texas and Mexico south to Argentina and Uruguay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.