Going Dutch Down By The Riverside

I needed a change of scenery and a bit of a breather today as I've got some family stuff going on at the moment. So I took a zip out to Allington Lock for a quick drink at the Malta Inn sitting looking out across the river. It felt so much better just letting the world float past even if only for a little while.
After I finished my drink I took a walk along the riverbank where a whole plethora of boats and barges are moored up. The particular example in my main image is a Kempenaar Dutch barge called Emanuelle which was built in Rotterdam in 1907. It's 110 feet long, 20 feet wide and weights 250 tons, constructed using riveted iron and used to carry cattle feed and cereals as its cargo. 
My extra features one of the bird mascots (I did have to do a double check to see that it wasn't real) which I noticed appearing on several of the different vessels as I strolled past them. Mind you I've just realised I've not actually included the river itself in either of my images!
By the time I got back home I felt ready to face the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.