Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

The Swan with 4 chicks (cygnets)

There was a pub in Worcester called the Swan with 2 nicks, which in our adolescent humour became a euphenism something else. The humour hasn't got any better with age I'm afraid to say "the Swan with 4 chicks" was the first thing that entered my mind for as a title for today's blip.

I've featured these swans on Mallards Lake before this year, on 3rd March, just after last year's brood were shooed away into the adjoining River Len as their parents prepared for this year's brood.

I first saw these cygnets before we went to Northumberland and at that stage there were 9, now there are 4. Last year 3 reached full size. We'll watch them over the coming months.

After a day of heavy rain, see we did pay for the glorious weather yesterday as I thought we would, it just cleared up enough in the late afternoon for us to go on our constitutional walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.