stujphoto

By stujphoto

Anchor Point

This was attached to a massive wooden and steel-banded raft which was floated out to sea and used for target practice during the war. I surmise that it was used as an anchor as it seems to be attached to a large box-like structure which could be filled with rocks. I photographed the other end of the anchor chain which is attached to the the target raft way back on 12.03.13. HERE

I love the way steel rusts away sometimes creating almost lunar surfaces. It sometimes also seems to split into thin layers as in the hoop in this image and I don't understand this as I imagine it is cast into the hoop shape as molten liquid.

This was photographed in dull flat lighting and so much of it structure and mid-tone contrast has been brought out using NIk Viviza. I suspect I might have overdone it a bit as as I really wanted to bring it to life !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.