stujphoto

By stujphoto

The SBIF problem...

Having had some recent success in capturing larger birds on the wing I thought I would gave another go at trying to photograph garden birds in flight. However, it was a rather desultory attempt. The light evels were really low as it was still drizzly and I was just pointing my camera out of the window. I ended up having to use a really fast film speed 3200ASA with all of its incumbent noise problems and surprise, surprise I did not manage to capture even the semblance of fight apart from a pigeon which nearly fell off its perch on the top of the fence.m I thought I ought to spare its blushes and not use that as my blip. Expecting the lens told hold its focus in servo mode on such a small object in a very cluttered environment was too big an ask !

I was therefore left with a number of images of birds on the bird feeder not even in the nearby trees. As I have not posted a really sharp image of a goldfinch before I thought I would go with this. I was rather pleased with way in which Nik's Define software has reduced the noise problem but in order to give you maximum colour detail I have cropped the image to within a pixel of its life. It's the first time I have not had to resize the image to fit in with the normal blip parameters.

Oh yes, what is SBIF, you ask ? Small birds in flight, of course. I expect the only way forward on this, is to prefocus on their flight path and move the bird feeder to a nice patch of clear sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.