'De Witte Molen', Nijmegen

'De Witte Molen' = 'The White (Wind)Mill'
'Nijmegen' is NOT 'Nidge-megun' but 'NAAI-MEY-ghun'.

The Romans occupied Nijmegen from 19 BCE to ca. 450 CE, and there are still some remains of the Roman Wall that can be viewed.  Honestly, though, it was just way too hot to explore the town.

Woke up at 05.00 and actually managed to get some correction work done.  Maybe because it was still relatively cool?  Also hung some newly washed laundry and did some ironing.  Then, a little before 08.00, went back to bed and woke up a couple of hours later.  Strange?  I'm just going with the flow.  On the one hand, there is my occasionnally restless head.  On the other hand, if I tire it out a bit and do something physical, it wants to conk out again for a while and that is okay with me.  More work after I woke up and had breakfast, and it was about 14.30 when I left the house.  AW was scheduled later for live bridge at Sweed's and Benna's so we knew we would not meet for dinner.  Sure enough, with thick traffic under the hot son, I was much delayed going back.

This is another 'mill on the hill' and there's a bakery shop inside it, which was open.  As I had forgotten my wallet at home, I could not sample what it had to offer.  The views from the top weren't so extensive as the whole area around it is a built-up area except for what looked like a park on one side, at the bottom of which there was shade for the car.  Nijmegen is famous for its hospital and medical research facilities, and also for its university.  I've often been curious as to how it would be like to teach there, but it is simply too far away from where I live.  Enjoyed the scenic route back.  The woods are worth exploring another time.

Extra 1 -- A small plaque on the mill -- and this is a translation attempt:
'The White Mill' is my name
I'll be forever grinding grain
Hidden inside, my work is done
and on stormy nights I stand.'
The windmill was built in 1760 and has been renovated about four times.

Extra 2 -- A little shrine on the same hill, opposite the mill.

A quiet evening when I got back, had the dinner AW prepared before he left.  Spent the time gaming and finishing kitchen duties, and then, just before the assignment deadlines at midnight, checked the online page again, and noted the newly-posted entries.  Thankful I'd already done most of the work in the course of the week, so I should be finished with these last bits by tomorrow.  To cap it all, some nice news from the Viking, for a change.  Nothing groundbreaking, but enough for a better night's rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.