Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Stepney City Farm

Well, I was at a bit of a loss what to do today as it was forecast to rain. And because it's still half-term, I've been avoiding all the places that are likely to be really busy, like the Science Museum. Then I remembered some mention of a city farm, so I put it into maps only to discover that it's about 10 minutes' walk from here! So this afternoon we set off for the farm. Of course, as soon as we got there it started to rain quite heavily, but luckily there was a cafe to take shelter in. Once the rain stopped we headed out with some animal feed. This goat family got all of the ruminant feed. There were three very cute kids and Orla just loved them. We also saw chickens, ducks, sheep, cows, two very loud donkeys and two very fat and hairy pigs ("they're a bit ugly" was Orla's verdict). The farm was also opposite St Dunstan's church, which was the only one I couldn't remember in the rhyme "Oranges and Lemons":

Oranges and Lemons, say the bells of St Clements
I owe you five farthings, say the bells of St Martins
When will you pay me?, say the bells of Old Bailey
When I am rich, say the bells of Shoreditch
When will that be? say the bells of Stepney
I'm sure I don't know, says the great bell of Bow.

According to Orla, that was the most fun she's had in London so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.