Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Exciting news!

Another bus ride to the hospital, this time for an MRI. I go for months without any medical appointments,  then they all come at once! And yes, it was a stressful bus journey again, because it was late, very late. And we got every red light and there was somebody at every bus stop. I was frantic by the time I got there. My appointment was at 10.15, and i arrived at a minute past half past. But she said I wasn't late - the appointment was at 10.30. Which gave me an idea... put appointments in a bit earlier than needed.

Anyway, the long list of questions - Have you ever been a welder (or had any stray bits of metal in your eyes?) No. Have you any permanent tattoos? No. Why? Well, if they were done in a backstreet, the correct ink might not have been used, and it might have metal in it and heat up in the machine. Have any medical instruments been left inside you by mistake? Again, the metal heating up is a big problem. They have to be careful. 

Even with earplugs and headphones, the noise while the machine is going is incredible!! Anyway, it'll be interesting to see how much my back has deteriorated. But I was told they couldn't do anything more for me anyway…

BUT but but! When I came home, there was an NHS letter for me. It was an appointment for a lumbar injection! Actually two of them (one on each side) a week apart.  This is the waiting list I've been on for a year, and didn't know I was still on it, so I'm delighted I can have another go at the steroid injections!! And the dates don’t clash with any holidays. Maybe second time lucky.

Back home, and Maggie is here for the day - she and Archie are mooching round the back garden. I've taken them along the shady side of the street, but they weren't keen - they’re happy just mooching.

Once Maggie had gone home, Hazel came over and we dandered across the Links to Left Field to check out their 'Bistro evening'. It was a bit vague, mentioning £5 glasses of wine, walk ins only, small plates. But we were too late - it was jam packed. So was the Black Ivy. So we came back to the sunniest seat in town (with the best cheese board) - our back garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.