Sunny Sunday

It can’t happen often that a wee wifie shouts ‘ Gorgeous’ to a man on a very big horse in the main drag in Stromness and gets a response. Indeed I was lucky this time that the couple on horseback were indeed blippers Happy Valley and Gorgeous. It would of course help if I knew their everyday names but I don’t , but who wouldn’t react to a greeting of ‘Hey Gorgeous! ? I might not have at age 17 but I’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain now at my advanced age.
We traded pleasantries and I allowed the horses to sniff my hand but I have to admit that I am intimidated by them and their ferocious looking teeth. However these horses were models of rectitude and kept them hidden.

I was on my way home after coffee at Julia’s shed following a very bouncy dip at the slip.

The sun came out to stay out at lunchtime as I walked round Hamnavoe taking photos of the wayside flowers before passing the Co-op and buying a very big Magnum ice cream to consume on the way. Growing up, it was considered de rigeur to abstain from eating in the street and absolute verboten if wearing the school uniform-(notice how cosmopolitan I am with language! )Nowadays standards have slipped……..

I write this sitting in the garden with a stiff breeze playing havoc with my hair, but the sun is still shining, the ebb tide is on the turn and the Hamnavoe ferry has just delivered a blast on its horn indicating it is about to depart for Scrabster. All’s well with this little bit of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.