Back to Normal

The weather decided to show its true colours today and revert to wind and rain- gone were the sunshine and calm seas and in were the clouds and white horses. However it was business as usual at the slip and this Lady felt she had had enough of a drooking before she even met the others, but once in, the rain was not an issue. It was a bouncy swim with the wind trying to take me in a direction I didn’t choose but I loved seeing the effect of the raindrops bouncing off the surface of the sea, all the time knowing that I couldn’t be any wetter when they bounced off me.

This behemoth of a floating crane, seen through a window drenched in rain, was towed by tugs yesterday into position at a nearby jetty, thereby obscuring my view  of the north end of Graemsay and it’s familiar lighhouse. Nobody seems to know what the crane is for or how long it will be part of the scenery.

The rain persisted all morning but finally about 2pm  it cleared and  became a bit brighter, bright enough for a walk to the other end of the town to buy strawberries. 
A few tourists had come out of hiding and were doing the cultural things of visiting the Pier Arts Centre and the Stromness museum . Me? I’m back home and eating strawberries while watching the activity near the floating monster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.