Sunny Tuesday

How I wish I could get the hang of perfecting the front crawl in the sea without swallowing pints of seawater as I try to breathe. I will continue to practise and hopefully manage before I leave. The alternative is to continue with a kind of vertical breast stroke which gets me nowhere very slowly.

As there was only one regular sized cruise ship in Kirkwall today ( but also one in Stromness), I decided to top up my larder at Lidl and so spent another warm sunny morning on the bus . However I escaped civilisation this afternoon with a walk round the back of Brinkies Brae where I held a one sided conversation with these two horses. They seemed happy to listen to my witterings but had little to add to the dialogue.

I am now once more ensconced in the garden listening to the sounds, magnified over the water, of the floating crane at work. I will sit in the warmth and sun until the Hamnavoe ferry reverses from the dock and does a 180° turn in front of me as it leaves on its way to Scrabster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.