Sailing away (Day 2963)

After taking Sigyn on her morning wander, and sorting out a bunch of stuff I headed for Stromness to catch the ferry south. The weather was grand and I was fairly looking forward to a bit of a pootle about on the bike. The plan had been to take the big bike south, but it developed a misfire last time out, so I took the little bike instead.
The trip was necessitated by an eye test in Wick. The local optician is massively oversubscribed and I can't get an appointment.
I took the scenic route from the ferry, along the north coast past John o' Groats, then south along the east coast to Wick . As I got closer to Wick the sky got darker. A mile or so from Wick the rain started. Within a very short time it was so heavy I could barely see where I was going. Once in Wick I found myself riding on flooded roads. It is the heaviest rain I have ever ridden in, and have experienced bathrooms with less effective showers.
I arrived at my appointment soaked to the skin.
It was still raining when my appointment was finished and I hung around under the canopy at the front of Tesco waiting for the rain to ease off a bit.
When it finally eased off, I set off for the ferry and found the road was dry five miles outside Wick. Sadly it will be a while before I am dry.
I arrived early for the ferry and took my only other pic of the day, the wee bike on the pier at Scrabster. It looks ok despite getting drenched.
It's a shame my beautiful wife is on an overnight shift at work tonight. She would likely find my purple hands hilarious. (The black dye has leached out of my gloves and stained my hands)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.