Joyfullife

By Joyfullife

Not An Ordinary Cookie Jar

I decided today to try DDW's word Blip Challenge and today's word was silly. I was walking into one of my rooms thinking of what could be 'silly' that I could blip today and I spotted this Humpty Dumpty cookie jar. It belonged to my aunt Helen who is now 91 years old.

When I was a child I spent one week every summer at Aunt Helen's to play with my cousin Albert. We also spent many Sundays and celebrated holidays there because I grew up in a very close-knitted Italian family. Cousin Albert and I were two-of-a kind. I remember the jar so well because of the jar's location in his house. When we were kids, Albert would often chase after me and as I was heading to his room, rounding the corner in the kitchen, I would come face to face with Humpty Dumpty.

A few years ago I visited my aunt in her apartment in Rhode Island and realized she still had Humpty Dumpty. I asked her if I could have it someday if her children didn't want it. She packed it up a week later and mailed it to me. It is not just a silly cookie jar sitting on my counter because at any time I can reach in and pull out a wonderful childhood memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.