58jc

By 58jc

Birthday meal

Today started with BP then home for a bit of faffing.  OH had visited MIL in hospital and said she was looking very frail.  I wonder what will come next - discharged home, and another fall?  Care homes are being mentioned but I don't think this is what she wants?  More waiting and seeing.

We didn't have much planned and the weather was a bit mixed so we decided to visit a kitchen showroom to get some ideas.  I started with the 'drip, drip, drip' a few years ago and beginning with 'the kitchen is fine and doesn't need updating' OH is now on board with a refresh, painted units, new island unit and cooker etc and is quite excited about it.  Kitchen showroom was really high end and had some lovely displays and we got some good ideas.

Home again for shower and change and OH drove me to LC where I was celebrating M & Fs BIG birthday.  We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the castle and the sun was shining and the rain stayed away.  A lovely evening with surprisingly good food and a few glasses of wine - so good to spend time with friends who have been constants in my life for the last 30 years (some better friends than others, but I suppose that is life?).  OH picked me up but we had a really stupid exchange of words (all over a £2.70 latte at the hospital ffs, which spoilt the evening.  I have decided that I get more argumentative and belligerent after a glass of wine so will have to apologise as it was definitely my fault!).

Another day done, and No1 enjoying Deal although weather has been mixed.  Shame the UK summer is not consistent, a few weeks ago we were having a heatwave and now the temperature has dropped and we have April showers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.