Dropping In On A Hokusai Wave

The changeable weather predicted by yesterday's mackerel sky did indeed come to pass and it rained on and off all day with brief interludes of sunshine.
I took this image just as the light was beginning to fade and the last glimpse of the sun highlighted these water droplets perfectly for my blip image.
When I looked back at my shot later it had the appearance of a stylised wave - and the first thing that dropped into my mind was "The Great Wave Off Kanagawa", a woodblock print by the Japanese artist Hokusai - I know, delusions of misplaced grandeur on my part! :-)
It was created in 1831 during the Edo period of Japanese history and depicts three boats moving through a storm-tossed sea, with a large wave of forming spiral in the centre and Mount Fuji visible in the background - unfortunately I was unable to oblige with the boats and a mountain!
On his part my brother said he thought it had more of a passing resemblance to the cover of the album Kid A by the band Radiohead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.