KathyH58

By KathyH58

July 17

A much different daylily season this year compared to the last several years. When I moved last fall I dug and potted over 100 of my daylilies to bring with me. I didn't have enough space to get them planted last fall and I have wintered daylilies in pots before without any problem. Then we had a winter like last winter, no snow cover and the polar vortex in February. I lost 95% of the daylilies that were in pots. Some of them cannot be replaced because they were seedlings.
One of my daylily grower friends is trying to downsize this year, and he was selling clumps of his seedlings for $5. I bought several and used them in some of the gardens we have planted. I also divided the clumps before planting them, one piece for me and one for the client. This bloom is from one of the clumps I bought this year.
51 years ago today, I had my first airplane trip. My parents and I flew from Halifax to Edmonton where my brother met us and drove us to his home in Ft McMurray. It was a Monday when we travelled too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.