Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

Thrift and Chanonry lighthouse.

Had an early appointment at the doctors so got Mike to drop me at the point sfter as it was a lovely,bright and sunny morning.I really wanted to capture the lighthouse and the sea thrift with a nice sky behind,I took several photos mainly ones avoiding this large warning sign but I think it added something to the scene.
I really like lighthouses and this one especially as I can see it from the house.It has not been manned since 1984 and is now remotely monitored from the Northern lighthouse boards offices in Edinburgh.
Designed by Alan Stevenson and was first lit in 1864.
I spent a while watching for dolphins and speaking to the excited visitors.I love to hear the gasps of joy as dolphins are sighted.It's a happy place to be.Saw a few dolphins further out ,a couple of porpoise and a seal.Plenty of terns were diving collecting small fish and a Herring gull tried to steal an on lookers sandwich !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.