Bevosity

By bevwestwood

Out for a stroll

Today I decided to take a break from report writing and head off to Minsmere - a favourite haunt of mine as those of you who follow this journal will know. It was a beautifully sunny day but the wind was very strong, coming off the sea and, therefore, quite cool.

The strength of the wind meant bird activity was limited though the Marsh Harriers and Bittern put in an appearance. I had to be satisfied with fleeting glimpses of Reed Buntings and Bearded Tits accompanied by their incessant chirring and pinging. The Stone Curlew and their chick were in evidence but only if you had good binoculars and could hold them steady. And then there was the Red Backed Shrike which I saw flying away and the Great White Egret which seemed to have just have been seen from every hide I went into!! Not to mention the Water Rails which were clearly just a few feet away but totally invisible - I knew they were Water Rails because the Springwatch webcams have recorded all the strange gurgles, grunts and squeals these birds make.

Luckily I didn't mind too much as it was good to be in the great outdoors. I think this Fox thought the same, though he did turn tail pretty rapidly once he became aware that there was a hide full of birders up ahead!

Oh and I heard my first Cuckoo of the year - first 2 Cuckoos in fact as one was replying to another. Still haven't seen one though. Nor a Water Vole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.