Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday!

It was a very slow start this morning. I got up to see Jan and Maggie off early, then I took Archie out round the Links. While I was out, I booked a shopping session at the Apple Shop in town. Yes, I was getting JR a new phone for her birthday, and I had quite an elaborate plan but I needed an assistant. Hazel was required to help me, for I needed to remove her old phone from her bag as I was trading it in. Actually, I didn't need to go to all that bother, I could have traded it in at a later date, but I wanted them to move all the data over to the new one, which actually isn't difficult at all. Anyway, all the bother was quite fun. Hazel rose to the occasion and distracted JR superbly, while I snaffled her phone, then they both went off shopping, Hazel making sure all afternoon that JR didn't look in her handbag to try to check the bus times, or to touch up her lippy...

Before we left, we had an unexpected visitor - Robert, who used to take Archie out - Archie remembered him and made a wee fuss. We had a bit of a catch up, but he had to hurry off, and indeed we had to hurry off to lunch too.

We had a nice lunch at Gleneagles Townhouse, The Spence, and I came home via my appointment at the Apple Shop while the others went shopping. Town is MOBBED, of course, so it's nice to see sunny weather for the visitors.

When the others came home, we had some more celebratory bubbles, and waited patiently for JR to notice the small white bag with the Apple logo on it on the mantelpiece along with her other cards and presents, which she eventually did...

She's just discovered that she shares her birthday, not only with her friend Gill in Sydney,  but also  Barack Obama.  She got it wrong, she’ll have to make do with Hulk Hogan…

First photo with new phone, which is pretty good because their faces were in darkness because of the light behind (Extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.