Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

The little Female (pictured) was first over today, whilst I was feeding her I heard another one and turned to see the young male walking over. I hadn't seen him for a few days. There were about 5 crows.
I then made my way round the loch. When I reached the clearing I saw the moorhen swimming to the edge of the water. She (Iam sure it is a female as she is much smaller than her partner) then hobbled over very  quickly flapping her wings and stood staring up. I gave her a bit of fish, which she picked up and started eating. Her partner was also around so I gave him a bit but he lost it to the gull and scuttled off. The gull went for the female's bit (there wasn't much left) but she was not  giving it up and turned her back to the gull who just stood there. 
The extra is the little moorhen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.