Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

There were two Heron waiting for me at the entrance to the park the little female was back (pictured) and the adult male. They had a good feed as did the crows and the gull. I then made my way round the loch. The lame moorhen was waiting and ran over so I gave her a large bit of fish which she picked up and hobbled off with it. The nervy male heron saw me and flew over (getting less nervy now) so I gave him the rest of the fish. I noticed that a gull was harassing the moorhen who picked up the remainder of the fish and moved to another moorhen. The two of them shared it and put the gull right off as he was in no mood to tackle two moorhens. I am always amazed at how clever these birds are and how they recognise me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.