Peg

My first task of the day was to prepare a side dish for the repast; I made a salad last night. We dropped them off on the way to pick up my mother for the funeral. My cousin had pre-planned the entire funeral and she did a wonderful job (always the thorough organizer). The songs and Mass readings were touching. Rather than a eulogy, she picked out two songs to be sung to her five grandchildren that expressed her love and desire for their lives. There was not a dry eye in the church. We were both named “Anita” after our maternal grandmother. My cousin actually shared the same name with her Mom. They were “Peggy/Peg” and “Grit”; I am the only one called “Anita” even though it is my middle name. I will always cherish our times together beginning from early childhood. After visiting with so many relatives, and Jamie and Kim at the the repast, we came home and simply took a nap. We were drained. I’ll clean up a little mess in the kitchen and be ready to head to Kim’s in the morning. We agreed to postpone hubby’s birthday celebration for a few days. It is time for another weekend. May yours bring peace and calm. Thanks for stopping by. “A cousin is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost.” - MARION C. GARRETTY

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.