Sometimes it's not very nice.

And other times my work takes me to the most beautiful places.

Today was a case in point. I was later leaving Sunderland than I had planned so I knew all the regular routes from there to home would be manic.

I decided therefore, to cross the country further north using the A66 which took me through some amazing scenery, made all the more pleasant by the lovely weather. I passed through Kirkby Stephen, where the Carlise - Settle railway service stops for passengers at this idyllic little station, and could not resist the urge to sit in the sun for a while, enjoying a break and a sandwich.

There were a couple of people sitting on the other side of the line waiting for a train when the signalman's phone started to ring. Not thinking anything of it, I continued to enjoy my break despite being stared at. It rang off after a while.

Then rang again and I was looked at once more. "Are we supposed to answer this?" I asked to which the reply came, 'Yes," as if it was the most ridiculous question ever asked.

I did so. A voice on the other end said, "Are you waiting for the 5.15 to Leeds?"

'No," I said, "but will ask around."

"Anyone waiting for the 5.15 to Leeds?" I asked to anyone who cared to listen.

All answers were in the negative.

"Nobody waiting here for that train," I replied to the voice to whichduly replied, "That's just as well as it's going to be an hour late!"

My good deed for the day. And highly enjoyable, if somewhat strange an experience it was too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.