Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

RWC begins!

Popped down town this morning for a browse round M&S. it's not often I can say that... but I'm beginning to think I need some extra things. I was in and out of M&S double quick - their godawful screechy muzak drove me out. Mind you, I'm very fast in there even without the muzak. 

It's SO nice to see the clutter removed from around the National Galleries - it's been there for YEARS. I don't go up the Mound now, as they removed my favourite bus, the 41, so I haven't seen if they've taken down the portakabins and the white fence around the whole area. BUT... they're replacing the 41 next week, due to public demand, I think, so I'll have a look. Now THAT will be lovely.

Anyway, I was in and out of town in an hour or so, though I did have a coffee and pastry in Prêt. Quite a successful trip too - keeping a couple of things, bringing a couple back. But boy! I was hot and bothered by the time I got back. I couldn't stand this heat every day!

Later, JR took Archie on a big walk in the Hermitage, it's great because they can be in shade the whole way, and Archie can stand in the river. I sat out the back in the sun/shade, listening to my audiobook, which I gave up on and browsed the Internet. I came upon Fred Dagg, a Kiwi comedian from the 70's and very much part of my first impressions of the country (loved it!) I then went down a rabbit hole of John Clarke (his real name) links. A wonderful man, and very very funny. Also found the film of Murray Ball's funeral - he was a famous cartoonist - with lots of people I knew.

The kitchen lights are not working. Nor the bathroom lights. They 'blew' a couple of nights ago. Fortunately, the important things are still working - the coffee machine, the fridge, the dishwasher and the washing machine, so it's no great hardship. But we haven't been able to get an electrician yet, and we're going away next week. And Jan will be in our house, and it's quite inconvenient for a visitor...

The opening spectacular of the RWC has started. LET’S GO!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.