Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Little Black Dresses

Abi texted this morning to say that she was staying home, so I didn't need to go and get Pip. So Archie and I went into town. I wanted a little scarf, as I hate having a bare neck, and I knew which shop had them - Seasalt. And Archie likes it in there.

The day was not the scorcher we all had expected. I'd seen the 'haar' on the weather forecast last night, so knew not to get oo excited. Sometimes it can roll away by mid morning. And sometimes it can stay all day. All down the east coast. And today it showed no sign of lifting until mid-afternoon, when the sun kind of got through and it was WARM.

We had booked to go and see the 'Beyond the Little Black Dress' exhibition at the museum. Archie stayed at home with his bone, I took the bus down, while JR and Hazel walked across the Meadows. It was a pretty good exhibition, but seeing all those black dresses in one place was quite foreboding and even a bit spooky. And some of them were absolutely ridiculous - made of black drinking straws, or black plastic bin liners, or one specimen even had several black bras down the front. Nice. And how about the one made from nettles from Highgrove…

The only one I found interesting was this famous one. Meghan Markle's 'seagull' dress she wore on that lie-fest with Oprah Winfrey. The one beside it was Princess Margaret's, and the next one was Wallis Simpson's. 

Back home, and popping over to Hazel's for an hour or so. Could be late.

The Rugby World Cup starts tomorrow! Yay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.