Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New discovery

No Pip today, so Archie and I walked round the Links before JR was back from the gym. I was trying out a pair of shoes. Not my newest pair, the ones before that, which fit fine, but I find are rather heavy and clumpy and I get very tired in them in no time. So in the afternoon I tried an even older pair, which seem to be a perfect fit, not too heavy, but after being in town, and a walk around the Links this evening, i was in pain, and one toe was beginning to cramp in protest. My feet are extremely annoying! 

JR had something to return in M&S, so we all went into town on the newly restored bus route, which is wonderful - it goes past so many places I like to go, and haven't been going all summer since they re-routed the bus. 

When we got off the bus in town, I noticed a neon sign that I haven't noticed before (because I haven't been in that part of town all summer) - Mowgli - a restaurant? Yes! We went in and discovered a lovely place, full of sparkling lights and a wonderful airy room with a big cupola - obviously formerly a bank. Was it dog friendly? Yes! It's Indian Street Food, with a large menu of tempting treats. I spied my absolute favourite drink - Mango Lassi. The last one I had, was a huge jug full, shared with JR's mum when she was visiting in 2005 (Extra) This was just a glass, but it was divine.

It was quite busy, and the soundtrack, though a bit rattly in the big open space of the room, was 60s - Beach Boys, Stones, so I can't complain. We'll be back - quite a find.

JR and Archie walked home, but I caught the bus back, and chatted to two Canadian tourists who were going my way.

Started to pack a bit. Hard to know what to bring. It's not going to be hot, in fact, it might be cold, but it might warm up, and it might rain... but at least there will be NO formal cocktail evenings...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.