HellsBells

By HellsBells

The Titanic and Evita

I called an Uber to take us to The Titanic experience. That was my first Uber I’d arranged by myself, I was very impressed.

The Titanic experience is a must do. It’s full of interactive and informative facts about Belfasts history. Obviously the ship building process was the main feature. It included a short ride around an authentic noisy ship yard. The fittings, or ones like it were displayed and a general feel of what it was like was well presented. The sinking of the ship was sombre, all the names of those saved and lost were printed on a very big wall. It was poignant.

I’d bought tickets for the hop on hop off bus. It picked us up from outside the Titanic and whisked us off around Belfast. The Falls and Shankhill roads were really interesting. There were lots of painted murals and memorials to those who had lost their lives in the troubles. There’s very high peace wall that is approximately 3 miles in length and gates to reduce trouble, they are closed every night at 6pm and open again at 6am. I was very surprised that they are still in use.

After a little siesta, Chris and I enjoyed a large gin before joining mum. We all walked to the Causerie restaurant at the Europa Hotel and tucked into a delicious pre show dinner. Evita was being shown at the Grand Opera House. I’d booked tickets. It was a good performance with actors from the local community taking part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.