ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Break The Rules

We went to see “Francis Rossi -Tunes and Chat” at Lancaster Grand last night. Many dire warnings about not filming or taking photos of the performance, but I reckoned I could risk trying to grab one when he was taking a bow at the end of the performance. Especially as he had someone on stage taking a picture of me at the same time (if you look at the inset picture [which I pinched from his FB page!], up in the balcony to the right - as you look at it - of the aisle, you can just about make out me and Mrs C, front row, 3rd & 4th seats in). As he said in the song “everybody has to sometimes break the rules”.
It was a great night. He is a natural raconteur, very amusing and easily distracted. He would quite often go off topic in the middle of a story if he thought of something else. And we got a lot of tunes. Basically, a history of Status Quo played acoustically, ably backed up by his guitar tech.
I’ve seen Status Quo live many times, but I do have to say that I prefer this sort of event. The smaller, more intimate, setting and the opportunity for him to tell some stories, all made for a much more relaxed, informal evening.
No let up in pace today though. A PT session to start the day and first Panto rehearsal tonight. And they say retirement means you can relax and take it easy…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.