Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

JR was up at 6.30, making muffins! The Apple cake did not set properly, but with judicious slicing, it was acceptable for a visitor. But muffins were deemed necessary as well.

She left for the gym(s) about 8am, and I, while listening to the news, intended getting up soon after, for Archie was going out with Brian at 9.30. However, I went to sleep and woke up at 9.20!! I couldn't believe it. I haven’t moved so fast in a long time!

Once Archie was away, I sat down to take my morning blood pressure, but thought I should perhaps leave it a bit...

Our Palestinian friend, S, came round and we caught up with all her news, including how her family ended up in Scotland. Her father was an amazing man, and his life story is so interesting. He was Muslim,  but converted to Christianity, and his father disowned him. In fact, a ‘fatwa’ was put on his head!! He came to Scotland as a young man, not speaking a word of English, sponsored by a Scottish minister friend. He went to university here, and studied to become a doctor, going back to Aden and Palestine frequently.

S has many relatives in Palestine, and has been there many times, even Gaza. So she knows first hand what is actually happening, and what's not reported in western media. 

In the afternoon Hazel popped over with exciting possible holiday news for next year.

Busy day, and I've hardly moved from the sofa!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.