Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day out!

Well, our little adventure had good and bad parts…

We got down town in plenty of time for the bus, leaving Archie with a few chewy toys. Elizabeth was picking him up a bit later.

We were so early we had time to pop into The Ivy for a coffee, which is actually a very good idea. And a lot of people had that idea too!

The bus ride was pleasant, though it went round lots of wee towns to pick up folk. The exhibition was good. Amazing designs, but there are only so many kimonos one can look at, I find… Lunch was mediocre, with long queues and the staff not really coping with clearing tables etc.

But when we came to find the bus home, well - we couldn’t. It decided to pour and we wandered around, getting soaked and more and more desperate. We went back and asked at the train station - they didn’t know, because they ‘change them all the time’. NOT happy.

I won’t mention that I had the wrong bus departure time. Our bus was sitting there when we arrived, early (we thought). And then it suddenly took off. Without us on it, because I had the wrong time (in my head, though not in my diary).

So, as the realisation of a long wait for the next bus, crammed in a bus shelter with about 20 soaking wet and sniffing people began to dawn, I could sense JR was anxious to tell me what she thought of my casual approach to timekeeping (it’s not new) and it wasn’t nice. Thankfully, before she exploded completely another bus drew up saying ‘Wallyford’.

Wallyford?? Who wants to go there? But I know that Wallyford is EAST of Edinburgh, ie it would probably be going through Edinburgh…

YES! The driver said his destination was actually Edinburgh, without any diversions round the wee toons! He has to go to Wallyford to re-charge, but really, did we all need to know that - Edinburgh was the destination. And so, we were back in town probably before the bus we should have got. So JR is still speaking to me…

And who knows, she might have finally realised that it’s best to CHECK times herself, and not just take my word for it. Especially with a BIG trip coming up!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.