Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

It's finally back....

In Dec 2012 I went on a hike that resulted in the dropping of my D3000+18-200 on some snow covered rocks. The lens separated, but miraculously came back together when I turned the zoom ring. The D300 seemed fine as well.

By Feb 2013 I knew all was not right with the lens; it wouldn't autofocus beyond 12-15 feet. I decided to take it to the only Nikon service center in Nova Scotia, and they ultimately had to send it to Nikon Canada for repair. $473 and 4 total trips between Halifax and Toronto, I have the 18-200mm back and it works!!!

Also in February I decided to purchase a Canon Cluse Up Lens Filter (500D) for the 18-200. I heard good things and thought it could lighten the load when we went to Mexico. No need for a very heavy 105mm Macro lens.

None of this worked out, obviously, and to top it off they phoned me in Mexico to tell me it was being sent back to Toronto for the fourth time.

Today I decided to head into the garden and give the lens filter and 18-200 combo a thorough test. This is one of the results. Probably not as crisp as the 105mm, but definitely would work in a pinch if I was lens limited in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.