Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

3 of 4

There are numerous native orchids in Nova Scotia, but only (I think...) 4 lady slippers. I have images of the yellow and ram's head, but the collection of pink lady slippers has mysteriously disappeared from the Irving Centre Botanical Gardens. The fourth is the rare Showy Lady Slipper, soon to be in bloom.

So today I had to go to Halifax for a meeting, and over lunch decided to try and find Pink Lady Slippers in Point Pleasant Park. Again, I used only the 18-200mm with Canon Close Up Filter, as well as a single off camera flash. I'm pleased with the results and plan to show some friends the advantages of the Canon Filter (<$100) compared to the 105mm Nikon Macro (~$800-$1000) when the Showy Lady Slippers are in bloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.