Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

JR and Archie set off on a walk to Morningside, but ended up going much further. her step count was over 20,000, including her gym visit. My step count was a worthy 6,921.

It was SUCH a beautiful day, so I set off, aimlessly, in the other direction, maybe town, with a coffee stop included, hopefully.

But I headed down towards Dean Village, haven't been there for ages. I've never seen it so busy, and no wonder, it's so picturesque. This is Well Court, an Arts and Crafts building, renovated in 2007 by the 55 residents and a grant from Edinburgh World Heritage. I then walked along the Water of Leith, past St Bernard’s Well (Extra) to Stockbridge - it's a short(ish) walk. And quite busy it was too.

When I arrived at Stockbridge, the weekly market was going on. I had a wander, but wasn't tempted to buy any of the ridiculously expensive food items, though there was a very long queue at the seafood paella stall, so not everybody thought like me.

On the way home, on the bus, I thought I might pop into the Japanese restaurant we'd been in last week - the bus stop is right there - but I then passed one that I've been meaning to visit for years - FRITES. I like their motto. (Extra 2) If I'm with JR she redirects my gaze, and persuades me that it's not such a good idea. However, today I stopped. They were good chips, though I really did not need to get the medium serving - the small one was plenty big enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.