RMH

By RMH

Wet and Empty but Very Good!

So…..a fair bit of messaging this morning to decide if and where we were going to go. The suggestion was to go to Linton just to see it then go to the Old School Tearoom. This idea hooked a couple of us.
The weather outside my window wasn’t as bad as I expected so when there was a little chat about maybe still being able to swim, I was up for it!
At this Hannah wrote:
I can see the BBC story now:
Five women swept away by raging river Wharfe: five women in their fifties are reported missing after a footbridge collapsed into a swollen river. Firefighters say the bridge, at Linton falls on the river Wharfe, near Grassington was designed to hold the weight of 10 double decker buses but the women’s clothing (dry robes and bobble hats) combined with their excessive consumption of bacon rolls, was sufficient to overwhelm the already strained bridge supports. It is believed the women may be located safe and well downstream, owing to their unusual natural buoyancy and familiarity with cold water swimming.

Haha! Loved it!

Anyway, it turned out that just four of us went.
Due to the plan having already changed several times, I had no option but to take both dogs with me.
We went to BA to have a look and if it wasn’t good we’d go on to Linton.

It was raining heavy and the river was high but not beyond going in for a short dip.
Hannah and Cathie took off walking to the bridge while Leslie and I got changed and the dogs went after Tilly’s toy. Even Scout jumped in and got it one time!
It was just a small area for swimming and I was surprised at how ‘warm’ it was! 11.6 It had gone back up again. Not what I was expecting after all that rain.
Walked back up to the car park just with our robes on. I got changed in the toilets and discovered that they have underfloor heating!!! Ahhh!

Tea on the Green was closed so we tried the one by the Forge garage. Good chips but no heating and we were SOOOO wet!

This afternoon we went to the storage unit to get Dad’s organ, as I have finally sold it, and the coffee table.
That’s it empty now. I’m so happy! Someone is coming to pick up the organ on Sunday afternoon and the table will sit in our bay window until it sells. :)

This evening was Games night. Haven’t had one since before the summer. It was LOVELY to be back. It was at Amy’s and if it hadn’t been so wet, I’d have walked. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.