Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

New phone. Eventually.

I couldn't wait to get my new phone set up this morning. I thought I'd better back it up on iCloud before starting anything, but that took about TWO HOURS!! When it was eventually ready, I started setting up the new phone. I've done it many times down in the Apple shop, and it's so straighforward, I knew there would be no problems...

I was wrong. The phones refused to talk to each other. I switched them off and on. Nope. So I realised that I'd have to go down to the Apple Shop for hands on assistance.

When JR came back from the gym, I walked round to our friend's charity event in Bruntsfield. They were raising money towards medical help for Palestinian children. It was mobbed, which was very good. I then got the 5 bus into the city.

The Apple Shop was busy, but I was sent straight upstairs and a couple of chaps immediatley came to my rescue. One was learning. But nope, they still didn't do what they were meant to do. He switched one off and on. Then the other one off and on, then both off and on, then he attached them together. And then it worked! He set it to download from iCloud, saying it'd be about 15 minutes, but I could use my old phone while I was waiting. Well, it was not 15 minutes - more like a whole hour... but eventually I was able to leave and walk along Princes Street in the sun.

I was wanting to take a photo with the new zoom lens, but I was scared stiff that I'd drop it, not having my case or my wrist loop on the phone. And yes, I did that once, a few phones ago - dropped it (luckily into Princes Street Gardens) on its first outing. This is the only one I took. I like how you can see the tables and chairs in some of the big windows.

JR and Archie had a long walk today - 18,600 steps! But we're all looking forward to the rugby tonight (well, maybe not Archie so much). GO! The All Blacks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.